- A & E Biography Government
Search for information on famous political leaders in the United States and around the world.
- Distinguished Women of Past and Present
The site offers biographies of women throughout history.
- InfoPlease - Political Leaders List
Online version of the popular almanac.
- Kings and Queens - Heads of State
Chronological lists of the people who have ruled each country, empire or religion, with the dates of said responsibility.
- Political Graveyard
Amazing directory of over 119,000 former United States Presidents, Congressmen, Cabinet members, federal judges and other national and local political figures giving the location of their final resting place.
- Who2 Biographies - Political Figures
Provides links to web information on famous political leaders around the world.
- World Leaders
This online directory lists rulers and heads of state and "includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States." Includes ambassadors to the United States, and permanent representatives to the United Nations, New York. From the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
- White House
The official page of the President of the United States. Includes news, press briefings, presidential proclamations, executive orders, appointments, photographs, interviews, and history.
- United States Senate
You can find out about bills that are pending, who your senators are and their e-mail addresses, and some trivia as well. You can also get some background information on the institution of the Senate.
- House of Representatives
Provides public access to legislative information as well as information about Members, Committees, and Organizations of the House and other U.S. government information resources. Includes searchable U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations.
- Supreme Court of the United States
The Supreme Court's official site provides general information, opinions, term orders, argument calendar, schedules, court rules, biographies of current and past justices, architectural details, and press releases..
- GAO: Accountability, Integrity, Reliability
Examines the use of public funds, evaluates federal programs and activities, and provides analyses, options, recommendations." Resources include GAO reports and testimony back to 1960
- THOMAS (Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress THOMAS site is the source for federal legislative information. THOMAS provides several options for finding bills, resolutions, and Presidential Nominations.
An online locator service for a comprehensive inventory of information disseminated by the Federal Government." The site provides access to searchable databases of federal government resources, and government Web sites.
- Project Vote Smart
Tracks the performance of more than 40,000 office holders and candidates for public office. Resources include voting records, issues information, background information, campaign finances and performance evaluations.
- Presidents of the United States
Includes background information, historical documents, notable events, and points of interest on each of the presidents.
- California State Government
The official website features news reports and events central to Governor's office.
- California State Senate
Contains contact information; district maps; information on committees; schedules; audio; FAQs; and the "full text of bills, resolutions, and constitutional amendments.
- California State Assembly
Contains news, legislative information, biographies of assembly members, a map for identifying representatives, links to related sites, and more.
- American Law Sources On-line
A collection of free legal resources for the United States (both federal and individual states), Canada, and Mexico. The documents include codes, cases, constitutions, and legislation.
- State Statutes and Legislation on the Internet
Seeks to link to sites containing full-text state constitutions, statutes (called codes or compiled laws in some states), legislation (bills, amendments, etc.), session laws (bills that have become laws), and administrative rules.
- Statesman Yearbook
ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY. Contains brief profiles of every country in the world, highlighting key historical events and describing their form of government and social organizations.
- Political Resources on the Net
A listings of political party websites available on the Internet sorted by country, with links to Parties, Organizations, Governments, Media and more from all around the world.
- Country Watch
Includes publications for each country including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information; the CountryWire, which provides daily news coverage for every country in the world. For off campus access select here CountyWatch
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus