The following are subject-oriented Web sites. These sites are good starting points for exploring Astronomy resources on the Internet.
- Earth and Moon Viewer
A great resource for clickable satellite maps of the Earth and the Moon. You can select views of Earth from the Moon or the Moon from the Sun.
- Imagine the Universe
"This site is dedicated to a discussion about our Universe... what we know about it, how it is evolving, and the kinds of objects and phenomena it contains. Just as importantly, we also discuss how scientists know what we know, what mysteries remain, and how we might one day find the answers to these questions."
A great site for amateur star-gazers; simply select your contry/state, nearest city, the time you wish to view, and which horizon you want to see and the site automatically generates a starmap for your area.
- NASA Home Page
Information about past and current NASA initiatives. Up-to-date reports on experiments, shuttle missions, astronomical observations, etc. Archives provide information about space history. Links to additional NASA services.
- NASA Life Sciences Data Archive
Contains information and data from space flight experiments funded by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). This archive contains information about experiments conducted from NASA's first experiments during the 1960s to the present time.
- NED -- The NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
Lists names and positions of extragalactic objects and provides links to data and published literature related to each object.
- Hubble Space Telescope Observations
Devoted to NASA's Hubble Space Telescope. Contains news; photographs of "stars, planets, galaxies, nebulae, and strange celestial phenomena" taken by the telescope
- Space Calendar
Covers space-related activities and anniversaries for the coming year. Arranged by date and includes an archive of the past several years, includes over 1,000 links to related home pages.
- Stephen Hawking's Universe
Presents the concepts behind astronomy, relativity, and quantum mechanics in laymen's terms. Topics covered include Antimatter, the Big Bang, Black Holes, Cosmic Rays, Dark Matter, Imaginary Time, Quarks, Quasars, Radioactivity, Schrodinger's Cat, Singularitiers, Superstrings, and Wormholes
A site dedicated to space and all space-related subjects. It focuses on news, information, education and entertainment.
- Space News
Publication of record for commercial space, military space and satellite communication businesses.
- The Eight Planets: A Multimedia Tour of the Solar System
A multimedia tour of the solar system. Contains photos, information and data for not only the planets, but their moons and other astronomical bodies, such as comets and asteroids
- U.S. Naval Observatory
This site provides information about the motions of celestial objects, a calendar of phenomenon such as eclipses, and other astronomical data.
- Science.gov: Firstgov for Science
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
These Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
Hack the planet : science's best hope-- or worst nightmare-- for averting climate catastrophe
Call Number: QC903 .K56 2010
The solar system
Call Number: QB501 .S627 2010
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus