Use these specialized resources to find magazine, journal and newspaper articles.
|Molds and Fungi
|Reptiles and Amphibians
The following are subject-oriented Web sites. These sites are good starting points for exploring Biology resources on the Internet.
- Bio links Database
This site contains over five hundred links covering such topics as biology, biotechnology, diseases, evolution, and microbiology.
- Biology Browser
Is a free database of biology resources and web links. Also a good biology teaching resource.
- Biology Project
Designed for high school and college biology students, this site has problem sets and tutorials in Biochemistry , Cell Biology , Chemicals and Human Health , Developmental Biology , Human Biology , Immunology , Mendelian Genetics , and Molecular Biology .
- Brightstorm Biology Videos
Free online Biology video lessons to help students understand Biology concepts so that they can improve test and quiz scores
- Cell and Molecular Biology Online
"The goal of Cell and Molecular Biology Online is to serve as a general resource for the biology community with an emphasis on information for cell and molecular biologists.
- Cell Biology Tutorial
This tutorial from Biology-Online provides a basic introduction to both general and specific cell biological processes, beginning with structure and energy generation and working up to viruses and cell defense. The contents are mostly text, although a few simple diagrams are provided.
- Encyclopedia of Life
An ongoing project to make "all key information about all life on Earth accessible to anyone, anywhere in the world.
- North American Mammals
A searchable database of all living mammals of North America." Based on the Smithsonian Book of North American Mammals and Mammals of North America, the database is searchable by species name and conservation status, and browsable through a map of North America and a family tree.
- PLOS Biology
This site serves as a gateway to the "open access" journal, PLoS Biology. Provided by "a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource."
An open-access gateway to scientific research news from some of the most reputable and reliable sources. Covers news in the areas of biological sciences.
- Science Seeker
Includes thousands of science blogs around the world, written by active scientists, journalists, professors, students, and interested laypeople.
- Science.gov - Biology
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
- Tree of Life Project
This huge and extremely ambitious project organizes, surveys, and displays the diversity, evolutionary history, and characteristics of all groups of living organisms. The great Tree has roots, a trunk, stems, and branches that connect each organism to all others.
- What is a Cell
This portion of the Science Primer offered by the National Center for Biotechnology Information explores cell structure, differentiation, and function, with special attention to the genetic processes within cells.
- Wildlife Finder
Explore a wealth of video, sounds, stories and breaking news about your favourite animals.
- San Diego Zoo Gloabal Library
Guides to online resources on animals, plants, and conservation. Limited access.
These Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
A student handbook for writing in biology
Call Number: QH304 .K59 2009