- California native Plant Society
Provides a database of California's rare and endangered plants.
- CalPhotos: Plants
A collection of nearly 158,000 images of plants (mostly from California) that can be searched by a plant's scientific or common name. Also browsable by scientific and common name. From the University of California, Berkeley.
- Careers in Botany
A career guide and career oportunities links for working with plants.
A collaborative effort among botanists to provide up-to-date information on plants worldwide.
- International Plant Names Index
A database of the [scientific] names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants
- Jepson Interchange
An index to California plant names with the latest information on identification, taxonomy, distribution, ecology, relationships, and diversity of California vascular plants.
- Plants Database
This site from the United States Department of Agriculture provides standardized plant names, symbols and other plant attribute information.
- San Diego Natural History Museum
Provides checklists & floristic lists for plants of the San Diego area
- San Diego Zoo Global Library
Subject guides for animals, plants, and conservation. Limited access.
These Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):