This is the "Home" page of the "Career and Job Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Career and Job Information  

Last Updated: Jun 9, 2016 URL: http://swccd.libguides.com/careers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Career Infomation Websites

  • America's Career InfoNet
    This site "provides national, state and local career information and labor market data." Includes "career tools, career reports, videos, a career resource library," and more.
  • Careers in Biological Sciences
    Includes a list of links to places where one can find information about careers in specific fields of biology.
  • California Occupational Guides
    This site includes job duties, working conditions, job outlook, wages, benefits, education and other requirements, and training about individual occupations.
  • Career InfoNet - Resource Library
    Online career information is arranged under the following broad subject categories. Browse through the categories to connect to online resources for a specific occupation, industry, or professional group.
  • Career One Stop
    Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor this site provides career information, allows you to compare different types of occupations and has information future employment trends.
  • Career Internet.org
    An excellent starting point for career information. Select the member button and enter the login information User Name= 35w and Password= future, then select career list.
  • College Board - Major and Career Profiles
    Provides career information by your field of study or college major.
  • Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT)
    Contains an alphabetical and searchable version of the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT).
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    A nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations."
  • US News.com - Best Careers website
    A list of jobs, career information and videos by industry type.
  • What Can I Do With a Major In?
    Find out what careers and possible jobs are available by your college major. This website is provided by the University of North Carolina Wilmington.

Employment Websites

  • Cal-Jobs: State of California Employment Development Department
    California's Employment Development Department's (EDD) Job Service that serves employers who want to fill job openings and individuals seeking employment.
  • Career magazine
    This site provides a searchable database of jobs by industry. It allows job seekers to research industries, build a portfolio, post and distribute resumes, view the jobs posted by employers, and access other employment resources. Employers can search the database to look for potential candidates
  • Indeed Job search engine
    Provides a list of job openings in San Diego County and surrounding areas.
  • Job-Hunt
    Provides a comprehensive listing of useful Internet-accessible job-search resources and services on the Web." Browse annotated listing of job resources by location and industry or profession, networking resources, and other job and career websites. Includes job-hunting basics and advice from human resources and career planning professionals.
  • Job Star - San Diego
    List of links to San Diego County job openings. This site can be searched by job title or zip code.
  • Salary.com
    A national job search database that can be searched by job title, location, or education level.
 

Library Catalog

Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):

 

 

Discovery

Search mulitple library databases, just enter a keyword about  your topic.

EBSCO Discovery Service

Databases

  • Chronicle Career Library
    Presents information on more than 2,000 occupational titles, ranging from those that require a high school diploma or less, throgh professional careers.
  • ERIC (EBSCOhost:)
    This database covers all aspects of education and educational research. ERIC provides access to education-related resources, including journal and non-journal bibliographic information. ERIC indexes over 980 education related journals and includes links to full text documents and journal articles.
    Passwords required to connect off-campus.

General Resource Information

Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!

E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.

When accessing  the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus

      

    My Profile

    Profile Image
    Tony McGee
    Contact Info
    Main Library L-308
    619-482-6474
    Send Email
     

    Ask A Librarian

     

    Career Books

    Cover Art
    Knock 'em dead 2010 : the ultimate job search guide - Martin Yate
    Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 Y37 2009
    ISBN: 9781598697810

     

    swclibrarytwitter 300 height

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip