- Chem - Guide
Designed to help students understand concepts of chemistry. Topics include Atomic Structure and Bonding , Inorganic and Organic Chemistry , Organic Reaction Mechanisms , Instrumental analysis, and Chemistry Calculations.
- The Chemical Database
A database of information about thousands of hazardous chemicals. From the Department of Chemistry at the University of Akron.
A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Allows you to search for Chemistry information online in addition to drawing chemical structures for molecules that are searched.
- Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry
An electronic encyclopedia of chemistry that includes organic, inorganic and quantum chemistry. Includes references for further reading. Topics are searchable, or users can browse links.
- General Chemistry Online
An introduction that includes hyperlinked notes, guides, and articles for first semester chemistry. The Toolbox provides interactive graphing, a pop-up periodic table, and calculators. Additionally, Tutorials contains self-guided tutorials, quizzes, and drills on specific topics. There is one database of 800 common compound names, formulas, structures, and properties, and another for over 400 annotated Web sites. From a chemistry professor at Frostburg State University, Maryland.
- The Periodic Table of Videos
Click on the symbol for each chemical element on the Periodic Table of the Elements for a short video about that element.
Connects you to U.S. Government science and technology information about chemistry.
- A Visual Interpretation of the Table of Elements
A project "to produce images that explore and reflect upon the diversity of elements that comprise matter." Each of the elements is accompanied by a visual image, as well as a description and history (including origin of name). From the Royal Society of Chemistry in England.
- What Chemists Do
Career information in the field of chemistry from the American Chemical Society.
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
Below are some interesting new books that the library has to offer. To look for more, search the library catalog above!