This is the "Home" page of the "Child Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Child Development  

Last Updated: Jul 27, 2015 URL: http://swccd.libguides.com/childdevelopment Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

Career Information - Childcare

Government Agencies - Child Care

Child Development Websites

These sites are good starting points for exploring Child Development resources.

  • Child and Family Webguide
    Contains research-based information about child development. Created by faculty and librarians at Tufts University.
  • Children's Defense Fund
    Is dedicated to educating the public about the needs of children. This site offers facts and figures about children in America.
  • Child Development
    Information on the cognitive, social and emotional development of children from the Centers for Disese Control and Prevention.
  • Clearinghouse on Early Education and Parenting
    Provides publications and information to early childhood and parenting communities.
  • Gateway to 21st Century
    This site includes and compiles a database of lesson plans accessible through a simple search. There are currently over 140 organizations supplying over 7,000 documents to the database.
  • Office of Child Care Technical Assistance Network
    OCC provides training and technical assistance to states, territories, tribes and local communities.
  • National Network for Child Care
    Site includes research-based articles (some in Spanish); statistical data, licensing information, and programs by state.
  • Zero to Three
    A searchable site containing information on a baby's social, emotional, and intellectual development. The "Parents" section has information about choosing child care, developmental milestones, many helpful tips, and much more.
  • Infant Development
    From the National Network for Child Care.
  • Toddler Development
    From the National Network for Child Care.
  • Preschool Development
    From the National Network for Child Care

Child Development Subject Guides

These Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.

Databases - Child Development

General Resource Information

Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!

E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.

When accessing  the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus

      
     

    Library Catalog

    Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):

     

     

    Subject Keywords

    Child development Pre-school
    Infant Developmental stages
    Toddler Child behavior
    Adolescent Separation anxiety
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip