This is the "Home" page of the "Career Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Career Information  

Last Updated: Apr 13, 2017 URL: http://swccd.libguides.com/college_career Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books and E-books - College information

The SWC Library provides you with access to electronic books which can be read on and off campus. Below are some of the titles. You may wish to search for more/other topics. Off campus access requires you to login.

Cover Art
The College Blue Book - Gale (Editor)
Call Number: Ref L 901 C685 2014
ISBN: 0028661869
Publication Date: 2014-01-17
This is not an electronic book but a wonderful source of information, in print format. You may use it in the library.

Cover Art
Profiles of American Colleges - Barron's Educational Series
Call Number: Ref L 901 F5 2013
ISBN: 0764147846
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
This is NOT an electronic book. You may use it in the library.

America's leading college directory and a perennial favorite among high school guidance counselors is a recognized authority in comparative college ratings. The book now comes with FREE access to Barron's exclusive College Search Engine. It gives college-bound students online information and guidance to help them match their academic plans and aptitudes with the admission requirements and academic programs of every accredited four-year college in the country. The brand-new 30th edition of Barron's Profiles of American Colleges describes more than 1,650 colleges, with up-to-date facts and figures covering-- * Admission requirements * Tuitions and fees * Financial aid sources * Library and computer facilities * Admissions procedures for freshmen * Campus safety and security * Thumbnail descriptions of faculty * Requirements for a degree * Athletic facilities * Extracurricular activities * E-mail addresses * College fax numbers and web sites * Admissions Contacts * and more The book's tinted pages section presents an Index of College Majors, an extended chart that lists all available major study programs at every school. Also profiled are many of the finest colleges in Canada and several other countries, as well as brief profiles of religious colleges, and American colleges based in foreign countries. All colleges in the directory are rated according to Barron's competitiveness scale, which ranges from "Noncompetitive" to "Most Competitive."

Cover Art
Bound-for-College Guidebook - Frank Burtnett
ISBN: 9781578869923
Publication Date: 2009-03-16
The Bound-for-College Guidebook offers information about the school-to-college transition in an organized and reader-friendly approach not found in any other guide. Frank Burtnett has assembled frequently asked questions and their answers from counselors who understand what students need to know during the exploration, decision-making and application process. The student exercises contained in the guide allow each reader to strategically organize the search and application process and operate from a position of power and control rather than one of confusion and bewilderment. Armed with this information and skilled in these exercises, the college-bound student is better able to navigate this important transition.

Cover Art
College Majors Handbook with Real Career Paths and Payoffs - Neeta P. Fogg; Paul E. Harrington; Thomas F. Harrington; Laurence Shatkin
ISBN: 9781593577711
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
This is the only book that provides information on the actual jobs and earning of college graduates in 50 majors. Based on an updated US Census Bureau study for 170,000 college graduates, this handbook offers accurate and helpful information for choosing college majors or deciding what to do with a degree that's already been earned. Readers will discover which majors are the best investment, the job and salary prospects for specific majors, the employment growth rates through 2018 for particular majors, what each major's graduates do on the job, how many of a major's graduates go on to additional education, and more. Now in its third edition, this best-selling title includes completely updated data, tables, and content. New information and tables cover how closely related graduates jobs are to their major; reasons why graduates work in jobs not related to their major; the percentages of graduates in each major working in small, medium, and large organizations; the percentage of graduates in each major working in new businesses; and graduates' levels of job satisfaction when compared to graduates of other majors. Other updated chapters discuss the important steps to take before college to ensure future career success, the earning premium related to a college education, the misinformation that exists about college costs, and the mistaken belief that "sticker price" of college is the final price.

Cover Art
The Boomers' Career Survival Guide - Ken Tanner
ISBN: 9780313365218
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
This authoritative guide helps Baby Boomers navigate their way through a host of issues that typically affect careers from the midpoint onward toward retirement.

Cover Art
1001 Ways to Pay for College - Tanabe; Kelly Tanabe
ISBN: 9781932662979
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Completely revised with updated descriptions, contact information, websites, and available monies, this guide to financing higher education is the only resource students need to fund their pursuit of knowledge. Balancing detailed explanations with real-life examples and practical resources, the featured topics include finding and winning scholarships, requesting a reassessment from colleges for more financial aid, maximizing assistance from state and federal governments, taking advantage of educational tax breaks, and benefiting from government-subsidized student loans. Creative strategies#151;such as starting profitable dorm-room enterprises, trading tuition costs for volunteer service, and canceling debts with loan-repayment programs#151;help students find extra money when more traditional routes are exhausted. The provided tips are designed for students of all ages and levels and their parents.

Cover Art
Latino Student's Guide to College Success - Leonard A. Valverde (Editor)
Call Number: LC2670.6 .H57 2002
ISBN: 9780313397974
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
The Latino community is the fastest growing minority group in America, and quickly becoming a major player in America's workforce. Unfortunately, Latinos encounter cultural and societal obstacles that can hinder academic achievement. This inspirational guide gives Latino students practical skills for advancing in a college environment. The Latino Student's Guide to College Success: Second Edition, Revised and Updated provides a blueprint for collegiate success. The first eight chapters guide students through subjects such as selecting a college, navigating the application process, forming effective study habits, accessing student support services, and planning for advanced degrees. The second part is comprised of eight inspirational stories by Latino graduates sharing their college experiences. Lastly, a third section features a listing of colleges with a record of graduating the most Latinos, as well as a list of the top ten colleges with the most undergraduate Latino students. The revised and updated second edition of this popular book features the latest economic and demographic changes that have emerged since the first edition was published. It also includes six new chapters introducing the impact of technological advancements and changes in cultural trends.

Need for College

  • Help Wanted Projections of Jobs and Education Requirements Through 2018  
      
    This report done by the Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce shows that by 2018, we will need 22 million new college degrees—but will fall short of that number by at least 3 million postsecondary degrees, Associate’s or better. In addition, we will need at least 4.7 million new workers with postsecondary certificates.
  • Career and Technical Education: Five Ways That Pay
    Getting a Bachelor's degree is the best way for most workers to make middle-class wages. In this report, however, we show there are 29 million jobs (21% of all jobs) for workers without Bachelor's degrees. The report also details five major sub-baccalaureate, career and technical education (CTE) pathways: employer-based training, industry-based certifications, apprenticeships, postsecondary certificates, and associate's degrees.
  • The College Payoff
    A college degree pays off--but by just how much? This report by Georgetown University examines lifetime earnings for all education levels and earnings by occupation, age, race/ethnicity and gender.
  • College Completion Tool Kit
    70 percent of students go on to pursue some kind of postsecondary education after high school, but less than half actually get a degree or certificate within 6 years. Why is this so important? Because more than half of all new jobs created in the next decade will require a postsecondary degree. This kit is produced by the Department of Education
  • College Grads Expand Lead in Job Security
    Article from the Wall Street Journal in 2010 that illustrate a divide between the fortunes of Americans with college degrees and those without. It's not only that the college educated earn more, but that they are far more likely to keep their jobs when times get tough.
  • The Undereducated American
    A new study by the Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce confirms that over the past 30 years, the demand for college-educated workers has outpaced supply, resulting in economic output below potential and growing income inequality
 

Ask A Librarian - Widget Box

Career Research Databases & Web Sites

Note: these databases require you to login when accessing off campus. 

  • College Source Catalogs
    Extensive database containing the full college catalogs of thousands of institutions.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)  
      
    Academic Search Premier is an academic multi disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
    Authentication is required to connect off-campus.
  • Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
    Learn about a wide variety of jobs and
    industries; scholarships, internships, and professional programs; and invaluable advice on applying for a job,
    acing an interview, behaving professionally in the work environment, and more.
  • Chronicle Career Library
    Presents information on more than 2,000 occupational titles, ranging from those that require a high school diploma or less, throgh professional careers.
  • Careers-Internet.org
    Includes 400 career fields and information about thousands of jobs for students exploring careers. Select the member button and login
    User Name= 35w and Password= future
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    Research a specific occupation or profession and find out the training and education required, salary, job prospects, working conditions, and the nature of the work
 

Career Development Books

Cover Art
You Majored in What? - Katharine Brooks
Call Number: HF5382.75.U6 B755 2009
ISBN: 9780670020829
Publication Date: 2009-04-30
"What are you going to do with that major?" Inevitably this unleashes waves of anxiety, whether you're a liberal arts student unsure what your degree has prepared you for, someone with a "practical" major whose career field is oversaturated (or just unappealing), or a recent grad still searching for inspiration. But take heart - The Question is fundamentally flawed. Your major does not equal your job! In You Majored In What?, nationally known career counselor Dr. Katharine Brooks dispels the myths and the old-fashioned thinking that can make your transition to the "real world" so daunting and chaotic.

Cover Art
Cracking the New Job Market - R. William Holland; Barbara Ehrenreich (Foreword by)
Call Number: HF5382.75.U6 H65 2012
ISBN: 9780814417348
Publication Date: 2011-08-17
The rules for finding professional work once seemed clear and unwavering: capture career highlights in a resume, practice answers to standard interview questions, and do lots of face-to-face networking. Cracking the New Job Market shows how these rules have changed and delivers new job-hunting strategies that actually work.

Cover Art
Bound-for-Career Guidebook - Frank Burtnett
Call Number: HF 5382.5 U5 B874 2010
ISBN: 9781607097594
Publication Date: 2010-08-16
While the American workplace affords many and varied career options, the process of determining what to do with one's life remains a significant challenge. The Bound-for-Career Guidebook views career identification, selection, entry, and progression as part of a larger developmental process--the career development process. This book addresses the incredible importance that change plays in education and career. What we need to know and the skills required to perform our work roles are affected dramatically by change, and all workforce members must possess the ability to learn and adapt. Empowered students and workers are better able to guide themselves through their personal career journeys. The Bound-for-Career Guidebook, with its information and exercises, will point you in the direction of opportunities and options that are realistic, desirable, and achievable.

Cover Art
The Pathfinder - Nicholas Lore
Call Number: HF 5384 L67 2012
ISBN: 9781451608328
Publication Date: 2012-01-03
The Pathfinder offers invaluable advice and more than 100 self-tests and diagnostic tools that will help you choose an entirely new career-or view a current job from a new, more positive perspective. You'll learn: Whether you're a seasoned professional in search of a career change or a beginner just entering the working world, you want to make the right choices from the beginning. The Pathfinder will expertly coach you through the process of designing a career you will love.

Cover Art
What Color Is Your Parachute? 2010 - Richard N. Bolles
Call Number: HF 5386 B56 2010
ISBN: 9781580089876
Publication Date: 2009-09-22
What Color Is Your Parachute? is as always, updated and relevant to today's job market. Career guru Richard N. Bolles leads job-searchers to find meaningful employment. He asks, WHAT skills do you most love to use? Where--in what field--would you most love to use them? And how do you search for such a job without depending on employment agencies and ads? This book is not only about finding a job in hard times. It's about finding your passion.

Cover Art
Career Wisdom for College Students - Peter Vogt; Doug Hardy (Foreword by)
Call Number: HF 5381 V58 2007
ISBN: 0816068372
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
Career Wisdom for College Students is a career advice book for those who need it most--college students facing monumental decisions about their future. Offering insight readers won't get in class, on the Internet, or from their parents, expert author Peter Vogt guides college students through the process of career preparation. While many books exist to aid the first-time job seeker or the recent college graduate, few offer help during the formative time when a major is chosen, . This volume consists of more than 60 advice articles separated into four major sections: "Take a Look Around--A Real Look Around," "Be Careful What You Think You Know." "Build Your Skills and Experience Through Hands-on Activities," and "Land the Job You Really Want."

Cover Art
Life after the Military - Janelle Hill; Cheryl Lawhorne; Don Philpott
Call Number: UB 357 H55 2011
ISBN: 9781605907406
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
Hundreds of thousands of military members are making the transition to civilian life each year. In Life After the Military: A Handbook for Transitioning Veterans, authors Janelle Hill, Don Philpott, and Cheryl Lawhorne-Scott collect all the information needed to settle into life after the military in one volume. The book discusses the many issues that transitioning veterans are faced with such as finding employment, going back to school, managing finances, special benefits available to veterans, and a host of other issues the transitioning veteran is likely to face when making the move to civilian life. It also discusses the emotional and psychological challenges that come with leaving the military and settling into life as a civilian.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip