Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
The following are subject-oriented Web sites. These sites are good starting points for exploring Computer Science resources on the Internet.
- Computer Science - A Guide to Web Resources
An annotated collection of links arranged by category. Included are dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic journals, algorithm collections, associations, organizations, societies, programming languages, courses, tutorials, employment, and much more.
This website presents information on software products, technologies, and vendors. Search their database of full-text articles from 20 computer publications, including InfoWorld, Information Week, and DBMS.
- Foldoc an Online Computing Dictionary
A "searchable dictionary of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, in fact anything to do with computing." Maintained by a software engineer.
- How Stuff Works Computers
Explains simply, with excellent diagrams or pictures, how computer hardware, software, peripherals and security work.
- Internet Archive Wayback Machine
This site provides snaphots of how Web sites looked at specific dates and times. After typing in a URL you can select from a calendar of pages captures.
Connects you to U.S. Government computer and technology information.
A major computer and online technology site with news, reviews, and resource collections
These Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
Encyclopedia of computer science and technology
Call Number: QA76.15 .H43 2009