This is the "Home" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice  

Last Updated: Jul 27, 2015 URL: http://swccd.libguides.com/criminaljustice Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Subject Keywords

Criminal Bail
Evidence Prosecution
Courts Complaints
Judgments Public Defenders
Procedure (Law) Confession
Plea Bargaining Searches
Acquittals Correctional
Pleading Sentence
Arrest Defense
Police Rights

Criminal Justice - Site list

The following are subject-oriented Web sites. These sites are good starting points for exploring Criminal Justice resources and law enforcement career information on the Internet.

  • Bureau of Justice Statistics
    Statistics about crime, prosecution, offenders and sentencing from the U.S. Department of Justice.
  • Criminal Justice Statistics Center
    Several thousand tables include statistics on homicide, burglary, domestic violence, delinquency, hate, and driving under the influence (DUI). Statistics are available statewide and by county, and sometimes by city. Searchable. From the California Department of Justice.
  • COPS - Office of Community Oriented Policing Services
    Includes community policing topics for law enforcement with topic guides & reports and links to additional resources.
  • Corrections.com
    Provides best practices, resources, case studies, career information and new technologies in the field of corrections.
  • Crime and Clues
    Maintained by a Crime Scene Technician, provides news and links to all aspects of "The Art and Science of Criminal Investigation," including different types of evidence and investigations.
  • Criminal Justice Profiles
    Provides aspiring criminal justice professionals with current and informative career information and job descriptions.
  • Criminal Justice Statistics Center
    Provides statistics about crime and the criminal justice system in California from the California Department of Justice.
  • FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin
    Provides peer-reviewed information on current law enforcement issues and research.
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation
    The site is filled with facts, statistics, photographs of fugitives, FAQs, and functions of the FBI, "the principal investigative arm of the United States Department of Justice," founded on July 26, 1908.
  • Justice Technology Information Network
    This site from the National Law Enforcement and Corrections Technology Center covers such areas as Crime Mapping, Less-Lethal Technologies, Explosives, and School Safety and is searchable by content types
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service
    A list of criminal justice topics from the National Criminal Justice Association (NCJA) in Washington, D. C. a special interest group that focuses on crime prevention and crime control issues."
  • National Institute of Justice
    This site is dedicated to researching crime control and criminal justice issues.
  • Officer.com
    Is a law enforcement portal that currently offers news, forums, chat rooms and an online directory.
  • SANDAG.org
    Includes brief topical papers covering many aspects of the justice system including adult and juvenile arrest data and regional crime statistics.
  • Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
    To provides information on characteristics, sentences and public attitudes towards criminal justice related topics.
  • United States Department of Justice
  • Border Patrol
    Career information.
  • FBI
    Career information.
  • Probation Officers and Correctional Treatment Specialists
    Occupation Outlook Handbook from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
  • Police and Detectives
    Occupational Outlook Handbook from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Databases

General Resource Information

Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!

E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.

When accessing  the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus

      
     

    Library Catalog

    Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):

     

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip