- EBSCOhost -eBook Collection
- Project Gutenberg
The first provider of free electronic books, Project Gutenberg allows users to download over 32,000 ebooks to read on a variety of devices, including the iPad, Kindle, Sony eReader, iPhone and Android phones and more.
- Online Books Page
This index of ebooks (across multiple sites) is hosted by the University of Pennsylvania. The goal of the Online Books Page is to facilitate access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. This site includes a searchable database of over 20,000 book titles available from many different sources.
- eScholarship University of California
Use the search box in the upper right hand corner on this website. It includes digital journals, online books, conference proceedings, and working papers from scholars throughout the University of California system
- Google Books
According to Google, if the book in Google Books is out of copyright, or the publisher has given them permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy. If you set up/sign in with a Google account, you can create/manage your own personal bookshelf.
An online collection of digital fiction, nonfiction and reference books.
- Humanities Text Initiative
A collection of literary, historical and religious texts developed by the University of Michigan . Includes projects like the American Verse Project and the Making of America.
- Internet Public Library: E-Book Links
A list of electronic e-books freely available through the Internet
- Literature.org - The Online Literature Library
Includes an index of thirty authors, you will find the full and unabridged texts of classic works of English literature that are in the public domain.
Includes literature and reference titles, that you can browse by genre/category, format and rating. There is also a premium section/bookstore with titles for sale
- UVa Text Collection
search the University of Virginia's collection of thousands of ebooks, "including classic British and American fiction, major authors, children's literature, American history, Shakespeare, African-American documents, the Bible, and much more.
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus