The following sites are helpful starting points for exploring Internet resources of interest to EMT and Paramedic students.
- Emergency Medicine Articles
An online textbook on emergency medicine written for medical practitioners and the public.
A compendium of news, forums, and commentary related to rescue, safety, and emergency medical services (EMS) workers, in addition to firefighters.
- National Safety Council
This public service organization is dedicated to improving the safety, health and environmental well-being of all people.
Designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression guidance.
- California Office of Emergency Services
Cal OMS: Provides information for preparation and responses to emergency of all types.
These databases will help you locate articles from professional or scholarly journals, from magazines, and from newspapers. Articles may or may not be presented in full; contact the main campus library to obtain complete articles.
- Southwestern College Library Electronic Databases
Use the Ebscohost databases to find medical articles. Many articles are complete in these databases, and can be printed, saved, or e-mailed. Off-campus use
is available to current students only. Anyone may use the databases from computers on campus.
- NLM Gateway
This search service from the National Library of Medicine can be used to locate articles with abstracts. Click on the "locker" button, then login as USER: swcemt PASSWORD: swcemt. Click in the "user preferences" box when logging in.
- Emergency Medical Services Online
An online magazine written, edited, illustrated and formatted to appeal to the full spectrum of EMS professionals: Paramedics, EMTs, administrators and instructors working in private and public services.
- Advanced Rescue Technology Magazine Online
- BMC Emergency Medicine
An open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of emergency medicine, trauma, and pre-hospital care.
These Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
These are some of the titles available at the library
Call Number: RA645.5 .E4968 2009
Publication Date: 2009