The following are subject-oriented Web sites. These sites are good starting points for exploring Film resources on the Internet.
- Cinema: How Are Hollywood Films Made
An overview of the components of movie-making including screenwriting, directing, producing, acting, and editing.
- Daily Script
A collection of screenplays for a number of mainstream films, listed in alphabetical order.
- Ebert Presents At The Movies
A collection of film reviews and commentary on the state of cinema
- Fine Cut Films
Instruction on writing, shooting and editing for film and television as well as information on interview skills and television production
- Hollywood Online
A fan-friendly site that connects movie fans through hundreds of fan sites, timely news headlines, quirky top 10 lists, crazy photo galleries, countless star interviews, the latest movie clips and trailers.
- Internet Movie Database
A searchable, comprehensive movie database containing information on individual films, actors, directors, composers, and genres.
- Internet Moving Images Archive
An internet library containing thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
- Movie Times
Provides weekly motion picture box office information and the highest grossing movies of all time.
Site of film critic Roger Ebert. Includes movie and DVD reviews, interviews, essays, a film festival archive, and more.
These Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):