Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
The following are subject-oriented Web sites. These sites are good starting points for exploring Geology resources on the Internet.
- American Geological Institute
The site has a wide variety of resources on geosciences including some full-text content of the Institute's magazine GeoTimes. Some content is restricted to subscribers.
- ATHENA Mineralogy Database
A site that has mineral lists, search and pictures
- California Geological Survey
Provides scientific products and services regarding the state's geology, seismology and mineral resources that affect the health, safety, and business interests of the people of California.
- Digital Library for Earth System (DLESE)
Site with resources that include links to "lesson plans, scientific data, visualizations, interactive computer models, and virtual field trips," plus materials for educators. Some features require free registration.
- Geological Surveys
Links and contact information for geological agencies around the United States including Puerto Rico
- Glossary of Mining Terms
Glossary developed from materials provided by the Kentucky Mining Institute.
Articles and resources for the mining industry. Includes a database of mining companies and properties, info on mining education, and more. Some features require pay to access
- Mineral Gallery
A constantly growing collection of mineral descriptions, images, and specimens.
An online mineralogical reference database. The site contains worldwide data on minerals, mineral collecting, mineral localities and other mineralogical information.
- Mineralogy Database
Browse a directory of thousands of mineral species, indexed by chemical composition, crystallography, optical and physical properties.
- Mining Technology
An informative site for industry information and international coverage of mines extracting energy minerals, precious metals, industrial minerals and gemstones.
- Northern Miner
The Northern Miner covers the worldwide activities of mining companies based in North America or listed on North American exchanges.
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Over 1,000 annotated sites are included.
- Smithsonian Gem & Mineral Collection
Pictures and short descriptions of gems and minerals on display at the Smithsonian.
- U.S. Geological Survey Homepage
Provides earth science information about health hazards, natural resources, and the environment, with news, maps and image databases.
- U.S. Geological Survey - Minerals
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.
These databases will help you locate journal articles and and other information on geology.
Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):