Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
The following are subject-oriented Web sites. These sites are good starting points for exploring United States Government resources on the Internet.
- White House
The home page for the United States President
- U.S. Senate
The home page for the United States Senate
- House of Representatives
The home page for the U.S. House of Representatives
- Supreme Court of the United States of America
Provides Supreme Court documents, decisions and general information on the court
- U.S. Government Accountability Office
Resources on the site include GAO reports and testimony back to 1960, other publications, study methodologies, FraudNET to facilitate reporting abuses, and the GAO Policy and Procedures Manual for Guidance of Federal Agencies.
- Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
Access to the full texts of bills and laws from the United States Congress as well as relevant proceedings and proposed legislation.
- Government, Politics and Law Research Guide
A research and subject guide on all things government. Provided by the University of Michigan Library
- Fedworld Information Network
A site that provides access to searchable databases of federal government job listings, government research and development publications and Internal Revenue Service (IRS) forms and documents just to name a few
- Project Vote Smart
Provides backgrounds information, issue positions, voting records, campaign finances and performance on political candidates and officials.
- Presidents of the United States
Background information, historical documents, notable events, and points of interest on each of the presidents.
The following are subject-oriented Web sites. These sites are good starting points for exploring state governement resources on the Internet.
- California State Governement
Official website of the state of California
- California State Senate
Includes home pages, addresses, committees, legislation, senate district maps, and more.
- California State Assembly
Provides biographical information, addresses, committees, legislation, district finder, and more.
- State and Local Governement on the Net
One-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
- Full-Text State Statutes and Legislation on the Internet
A database of sites containing full-text state constitutions, statutes, legislation, session laws, and administrative rules.
The following are subject-oriented Web sites. These sites are good starting points for exploring local governement resources on the Internet.
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
These Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.