- Explore Health Careers
Website for job hunters that includes sections on writing resumes, career guides, and salary information.
- Healthcare careers
Healthcare careers from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
The following are subject-oriented Web sites. These sites are good starting points for exploring Health Information resources on the Internet.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Get data, statistics, and reports on all aspects of health: individual, preventative, and environmental. Great for Public Health Professionals, Healthcare Providers, Researchers, Travelers, Scientists, Partners, Policy Makers, Students, Educators, and most any individuals interested in health issues.
- Drugs, Supplements and Herbal Information
Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines and browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness
- Hardin MD
A high quality site that lists a "directory of directories" for health and medicine and is maintained by the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences at the University of Iowa.
This site for consumers contains a directory of health organizations and links to hundreds of sites featuring "government and nonprofit health and human services information." Parts of this site available in Spanish. From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Healthline is both a health search engine and a provider of its own articles on medical topics. The site offers its own doctor reviewed articles and searches other sites that its on-staff doctors and medical experts consider to be "the top health sites on the Web."
Provides news articles, articles of interest to each speciality, access to a number of online journals, online patient information brochures, and extensive information aimed at clinicians.
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 700 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. MedlinePlus is updated daily.
- Merck Manual of Medical Information
The full-text, searchable consumer edition of the famous Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy "meant for all those people interested in medical care who did not have a medical degree." Includes audio files of pronunciations, photographs, animations, and video files.
- National Center for Health Statistics
From alcohol use by high school seniors to emergency room visits for work-related injuries, this site has the numbers of all things health-related. There are statistical charts, tables, fact sheets, a list of NCHS job opportunities, and links to other statistical sites. Provided by the Centers For Disease Control and Prevention.
- Nutrition Analysis Tool
A web based program that allows anyone to analyze the foods they eat for various different nutrients. Developed by the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition at the University of Illinois.
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Use the browsable index for a broad range of topics from Agriculture and Food to Science Education. From the science.gov Alliance , a group of U.S. government science agencies.
Contains information on diseases and conditions, pregnancy, diet and nutrition, drugs and herbs, health plans, Medicare, medical tests, clinical trials, and more. Features quizzes, and interactive tools (including a symptom checker).
These Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus