This is the "Home" page of the "Off Campus Access Information and Tips " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Off Campus Access Information and Tips  

Off campus access to Library subscription databases is available to currently enrolled SWC Students, Staff and Faculty. Public Patrons may access these databases from stations located inside the library building.
Last Updated: May 17, 2013 URL: http://swccd.libguides.com/helpproxyaccess Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Access

When accessing  the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system.

Your WebAdvisor User ID is the first initial of your first and last names, 0 (zero) and your six digit student ID number.

Example: aa0123456

Enter your birthdate in this format, month, day and year (mmddyy)

Example: December 1, 1984 would enter: 120484

Once you enter your User ID and birthdate, you'll be able to use the databases, e-journals, and e-books just as if you were on campus.

Although the Southwestern College Libraries would like to offer open access to all information resources, license agreements with the publishers of our online databases, e-journals, and e-books require that only current SWC students, faculty, and staff be given access to these resources.

Non-enrolled library patrons can access our research databases and e-resources from computer stations located inside the library building.

If you are not a current SWC student or staff member, the San Diego County Library system and Chula Vista Public Library also offers a collection of online article databases. It offers free access to to all San Diego County residents with a San Diego County or Chula Vista Public Library card.

 

Student and Staff ID numbers

Student ID number:

Your (Student ID Number) is the 7 digits on your Student ID card.  Your student ID is also printed on your original SWC enrollment receipt, which was either given, mailed, or e-mailed to you when you first enrolled. If you do not know your student ID number please use this link to WebAdvisor https://webadvisor.swccd.edu/WebAdvisor/WebAdvisor? and select the Students tab then User Account and "What's my User ID?" or contact the Admissions Office  at the Chula Vista campus or any Higher Education Center or call  (619) 421-6700 ext. 5215 or 5216.

Faculty and Staff WebAdvisor User ID

For off campus access use your WebAdvisor ID. If you do not know your WebAdvisor ID number please use this link https://webadvisor.swccd.edu/WebAdvisor/WebAdvisor? and select the Faculty or Staff tab then User Account and "What's my User ID?

 

Troubleshooting

Troubleshooting:

SWC Library uses server based software called EZproxy to facilitate access to its online subscriptions for off campus users. Below are some frequently asked questions that may help you if you are experiencing problems accessing the online resources.

Once you have been validated as an off campus user, a "cookie" is sent to your browser as an ongoing indication of your authorization to access these databases. It will only need to be set once during login.

If you are using a personal firewall from off campus, you may need to change its configuration to allow the required cookie to be set.

I got an EZproxy Cookie Error. What do I do?


  If you are using Internet Explorer.  If so, the fix is very easy. In IE go to TOOLS/INTERNET OPTIONS and click on the Privacy tab, then hit the ADVANCED button.  
From there make sure your settings say:

Override automatic cookie handling - CHECK                      
First-party cookies - ACCEPT
Third-party cookies - ACCEPT
Always allow session cookies - CHECK
Hit OK, then OK to save settings         

proxy cookie setting                                                   

For patrons using the Chrome browser there is a support page and video at https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95582

Firefox users also have a support webpage at http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/websites-say-cookies-are-blocked-unblock-them

If you are using Safari information can be found at http://www.wikihow.com/Delete-Cookies-Using-the-Safari-Web-Browser

If you are using another browser, clear all cookies, close all open instances of the browser and try again.

I got an Hostname error.  What do I do?

You will get a Hostname Error page when you try to access an address (domain) in one of our databases that has not been set up for use by EZproxy. Database vendors often change their domain names without informing libraries. We might not know of these changes until you report a Hostname Error. Once reported, we can edit our Ezproxy settings so that access becomes available.

To expedite correction of this error, please fill out an Off Campus Access Problem Report.

Please include:

  • the name of the resource you were trying to access
  • the computer hostname line listed on the error page

I have read everything here and still can't access library resources from off campus. Where can I get help? Fill out an Off Campus Access Problem Report and someone will contact you to help resolve the problem within 24 hours (except weekends and holidays).

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip