- Documents for the Study of American History
A directory of primary documents available on the Web, beginning with 1492 and continuing into current times.
- Eyewitness to History
Eyewitness accounts of historical events with visuals and some sound recordings of radio broadcasts. Real life accounts and recreated happenings range from the ancient world right up to more modern times.
- Historical Text Archive
Comprehensive and eclectic directory of historical resources. Includes primary documents, related links, and electronic versions of print books, organized by geography / nations and topics.
- History Matters: the U.S. Survey Course on the Web
This site serves as a gateway to Web resources and offers unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents and threaded discussions on teaching U.S. history. Currently, most of the materials cover the period 1876 to 1946.
- History Place
The History Place is a private, independent, Internet-only publication. The Web site presents a fact-based, common sense approach in the presentation of the history of humanity, with great care given to accuracy.
- The Labyrinth: Resource for Medieval Studies
A comprehensive resource for Medieval Studies: bibliographies, European cultural studies, pedagogical resources, professional information and organizations, electronic texts, music.
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
A searchable directory of websites covering Latin American history. Browsable by individual country or region.
- The Library of Congress American Memory Project
American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas.
NetSERF is an extremely thorough and extensive database of information on any and all aspects of medieval society and its culture. It includes search engines and a fantastic glossary for obscure medieval terminology.
- Perseus Digital Library
This digital library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Includes reference works such as encyclopedias, grammars, and dictionaries as well as primary sources such as original texts, images, first-person narratives, and diaries.
- Presidents of the United States
Do you need information about any of the Presidents of the United States? Find it here, along with links to historical documents, audio, video, and other presidential sites.
These Internet resource directories are useful for exploring a subject to find out what's available on the Internet. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.
- Open Directory History
The DMOZ history database with links searchable by region, time period and topic
- Yahoo History
A collection of links to websites and organizations covering all things history.
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus