Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
- Columbia Journalism Review
The magazines website provides articles, a guide to what the major media companies own, the Media Finder listing newspapers, magazines, and TV stations, the Language Corner collection of grammatical blunders and Resource Guides.
- FAIR: Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting
National media watch group offering criticism and analysis in an effort to correct media bias and imbalance. The website contains articles, action alerts, and links on current issues.
- Finding Data On The Internet: A Journalists Guide
Consists of two primary parts "Finding Data on the Internet" and "Statistics Every Writer Should Know".
- Journalism Resources
Over 40 annotated pages of resources compiled for support of academic journalism departments and professional journalists.
The resource for online newspapers around the world. The newspapers section lists around 5,400 papers and is searchable by title or location and is also indexed geographically.
- NewsWatch: A Consumers Guide to the News
NewsWatch provides insightful analysis of the media and its coverage of recent news stories.
- Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
An independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues. In this role it serves as a valuable information resource for political leaders, journalists, scholars and citizens.
- Poynter Online
This well-regarded site from the Poynter Institute "provides journalists with reliable information, useful tools, and provocative suggestions." In addition to assistance aimed at journalists, the site features tutorials and articles useful to the general public.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Archive began taping the evening news broadcasts of the three major networks, ABC, CBS, and NBC, in August, 1968, and CNN in October, 1995. This collection has been abstracted with story level descriptions. Also has a database of special reports and periodic broadcasts and specialized collections.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)
Provides selected full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily. Authentication is required to connect off-campus
- National Newspapers Expanded(ProQuest)
Includes full-text access and archive coverage to: Includes full-text access to:New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Denver Post, USA Today and the Christian Science Monitor.Authentication is required to connect off-campus
- World News Digest ( Facts On File)
Delivers over 60 years of the authoritative Facts On File World News Digest, updated every week and including a live Reuters® news feed, interconnected with related content from the other Facts On File reference databases.Authentication is required to connect off-campus
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):