- USDA Plant Health
US Department of Agriculture: Provides information on plant health, pest control, weed managment. Includes links to more resources.
Designed for horticulture students by Ohio State University.
- Weekend Gardener
Horticulture for busy people.
Information on California's native plants.
- California Gardens
Information on gardening in California.
List of plants that are drought, heat, and freeze resistant.
- US National Arboretum
List of gardens and horticulture information.
- Biological Control
Discription on pests, pathogens, and predators by Cornell University.
These databases give a variety of information useful to gardeners and growers.
Over 2,800 unique links to websites that cover all topics on horticulture
- Seed Germination Database
A comprehensive guide to sowing and germination of seeds with links, definitions and sowing times
- Pest Management Guidelines
Information about managing pests, including University of California's official guidelines for monitoring pests and using pesticides and nonpesticide alternatives for managing insect, mite, nematode, weed, and disease pests. Includes a crop index.
- Rooting Database
Explore a database of plants listed by genus as well as an alphabetical list of cultivar
- USDA Plants National Database
This site from the United States Department of Agriculture provides standardized plant names, symbols and other plant attribute information. PND can be searched by common or scientific name, family or genus and limited by state.
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus