- Thomas Law Library
The Library of Congress Thomas: Federal legislative information.
- Cornell Legal Library
Non-Profit Legal Information Institute providing free information for everyone. Part of Cornell University Law School.
- Washington Law Library
Information on National and International Laws
Search for laws using a search term or by subject. Covers the U.S.
- FindLaw: Topics List
List for all of the topics in Findlaw.
- Guide to Law
The Law Library of Congress' Guide to Law Online service.
- Law Dictionary
Dictionary for legal terms. Hosted by ALM (formerly American Lawyer Media).
- Legal Dictionary
Dictionary of legal terms. Hosted by Duhaime Law from Canada.
- U.S. Archives: Constitution of the United States
Access to images and transcripts of the Constitution. Includes all of the Amendments.
- LII: U.S. Constitution
Legal Information Institute from Cornell University Law School. Browse the Constitution by section. With annotations.
- FindLaw: U.S. Constitution
Browse the Constitution by sections. Includes the Bill of Rights.
U.S. Government Printing Office. Includes collections on Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Records, Public and Private Laws, United States Courts Opinion.
- US Patent Office
Information on Patents, Trademarks, and Intellectual Property Law and Policies.
- US Courts
Information on the Federal Court system. Includes statistics, court records, forms, and glossary of terms.
- FindLaw: U.S. Supreme Court
Supreme Court decisions since 1893 (U.S. Supreme Court Decisions: U.S. Reports 150-, 1893-). Browse by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and searchable by citation, case title and full text.
- LII: Supreme Court
Decisions prior to 1990 are available from a variety of on-Net sources, in a variety of formats. The LII collection of historic decisions of the US Supreme Court contains over 300 of the court's most important decisions through the whole period of its existence.
- LII: Supreme Court Decisions
The Supreme Court is the highest court in the US judicial system. Decisions since 1990 are made available under the auspices of Project Hermes.
- U.S. Court of Appeals
Find information regarding cases, rules of practice, opinions and orders, daily disposition, oral recordings, and a lot more.
- National Center for State Courts
Browse for Court Web Sites or State of the Judiciary Message archive by state. Other information and search options are available.
- GPO: Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
- GPO: Federal Register
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
- GPO: Congressional Reports
House and Senate Reports: Reports of congressional committees concerning proposed legislation and/or contain findings on matters under investigation.
- House of Representatives
Find information on the House of representatives. Including: Bills & Reports, schedules, committees.
- U.S. Senate: Legislation
Direct access to Bill search and Floor Activity.
- U.S. House of Representatives: Committee Hearings
Schedule of hearings for each committee.
- U.S. House of Representatives: Committee Offices
The House’s committees consider bills and issues and oversee agencies, programs, and activities within their jurisdictions.
- U.S. Senate: Committees
Standing committees generally have legislative jurisdiction. Subcommittees handle specific areas of the committee’s work. Select and joint committees generally handle oversight or housekeeping responsibilities.
- Congressional Hearings on the Web
A hearing is a meeting or session of a Senate, House, joint, or special committee of Congress, usually open to the public, to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal law.
- Thomas: Congressional Committee Reports
After a bill is introduced on the House or Senate floor, it is referred to the committee of jurisdiction. The committee of referral most often sends the measure to its specialized subcommittee(s) for study, hearings, revisions and approval.
- U.S. House of Representatives: Search U.S. Code
Search for U.S. Codes by keyword, title, section, or several other search fields.
- LII: Search U.S. Code
Legal Information Institute from Cornell University Law School. Search though the U.S. Codes by Title and Section.
- GPO: Public and Private Laws
Public and private laws are also known as slip laws. A slip law is an official publication of the law and is competent evidence admissible in all state and Federal courts and tribunals of the United States. Public laws affect society as a whole, while private laws affect an individual, family, or small group.
- Thomas: Public Laws
Public laws affect society as a whole, and make up most of the laws passed by Congress.
- Thomas: Federal Bills
Bill Summary & Status (BSS) covers the 93rd Congress (1973) through the current Congress. Users must select the Congress that they would like to search.
- GPO: Federal Bills
Congressional bills are legislative proposals from the House of Representatives and Senate within the United States Congress.
- Virtual Legal Subject Guides
Directory of legal subject terms.
- State and Local Government on the Net
Directory for government Websites of State, Local, and American Territories.
- Yahoo! Directory
Directory of Web Sites.