- American Cetacean Society - Fact Sheets
Information on 28 different species of whales, dolphins, and porpoises.
- The Birch Aquarium
The public exploration center for Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD La Jolla strives to provide ocean science education, interpret Scripps research, and promote ocean conservation.
- Google Earth
A downloadable program that is contantly updated with new content. Presents a 3D view of the world, including the odeans.
- Marine Biology
Online book that provides information on physical & chemical oceanography as well as marine biology & biological oceanography.
- The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Information on daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings and climate monitoring. Also monitors the condition of the oceans and atmosphere.
- Ocean Explorer - NOAA
Provides direct access to over 200 lesson plans, offers professional development opportunities for educators, and has an ocean career component.
- Ocean Link
A searchable site offering news and information about marine biology and ecology.
- Office of Naval Research Science and Technology Focus: Oceanography
Offers information on the characteristics of the oceans and the animals and plants in them. Also has information on some of the researching vessels.
- Scripps Institute of Oceanography
Part of UCSD, Research at Scripps encompasses physical, chemical, biological, geological, and geophysical studies of the oceans. Ongoing investigations include the topography and composition of the ocean bottom, waves and currents, and the flow and interchange of matter between seawater and the ocean bottom or the atmosphere.
Connects you to US Government science and technology information.
- Tides and Tide Prediction
Provides links to online tide predictors, tide observations/sea level measurements, and general information on tides and tide prediction.
- Wind and Sea Guide
This Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide has over 1,000 selected links to science and policy sites organized by topic and alphabetically within topic.
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Passwords required to connect off-campus
- Access Science
Provides access to articles and illustrations, from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, includes research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, and the latest Science News headlines, biographies, and more.Passwords required to connect off-campus
- Today's Science (Facts On File)
Presents the latest scientific discoveries and the fundamental concepts that underlie them. Designed specifically for students it covers the significant developments in science and technology from 1992 to present.Passwords required to connect off-campus