- American Center for Physics
Is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in physical science education. It also publishes to peer reviewed journals the American Journal of Physics and The Physics Teacher.
- American Institute of Physics
represents a broad cross-section of more than 135,000 scientists, engineers, and educators in the global physical science community. AIP is one of the world's leading publishers in the physical sciences. AIP publishes 13 journals; two magazines, including its flagship publication Physics Today.
- American Physical Society
This professional association represents 48,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories and industry in the United States and throughout the world.
- American Physical Society: A Century of Physics
A timeline (1896-2010) of significant events in the development of physics. Events and discoveries are also listed alphabetically, indexed by category (Cosmic, Human, Atomic, Living World, Technology, and Art) and searchable by keyword.
- Career Guidance in Physics
Thinking about a career in the area of physics? The American Institute of Physics provides information about the careers of physics bachelor's degree recipients
- Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
An electronic encyclopedia of physics topics, including all the major topics in modern physics with references for further reading. Topics are searchable, or users can browse links.
- It's Elemental: The Periodic Table of Elements
This periodic table features descriptions of all of the elements, with history and uses, facts and figures, and other details. Also includes lists of the elements by atomic number and chemical name and symbol. From the Jefferson Lab, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility.
- Martindale Calculators and Physics On-Line Center
This site provides collections of links to websites on numerous subjects, with a focus on measurement and conversion tools. Topics include mathematics, and science.
- Physics 2000
An informative introduction to various aspects of physics. From the Chemistry and Physics Department at the University of Colorado at Boulder.
- Physics Central: Learn How Your World Works
This site exists to "describe the latest research and the people who are doing it and, if you want more, where to go on the web." Features include a writer's gallery of physicists' essays and a question and answer service about how things work.
- Physics To Go
This is "a collection of more than 500 websites that you can search or browse to explore physics on your own. It's also a biweekly online magazine, with archives containing more than 55 selected physics images." Browse listings by topics such as fluids, heat, and light. Produced by the American Physical Society (APS).
- Science.gov - Physics and Chemistry
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results." Over 1,000 annotated sites are included. Use the browsable index for a broad range of topics from Agriculture and Food to Science Education .From the science.gov Alliance , a group of U.S. government science agencies.
- The Periodic Table of Videos
Click on the symbol for each chemical element on the Periodic Table of the Elements for a short video about that element.
- Yahoo Subject Directory
An organized list of physics related websites.
Your Library has a great deal more information on this topic!
E-Books, journals, magazine and newspaper articles are available online. These services are for current Southwestern College students and staff.
When accessing the research databases and other e-resources from off campus, you will be prompted for your WebAdvisor User ID and birthdate by the SWC off campus access system. For additional information about off campus access visit www.swccd.edu/libraryoffcampus
Search the Library's Online Catalog: (your search results will open in a new window):