- College Blue Book
A definitive guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the US and Canada, their programs, degrees, and financial aid sources.
- Barron's Profiles of American College
This college directory presents profiles of every accredited four-year college in all 50 states.
- College Source Catalogs
- College Navigator
This federal website contains data on the nation's colleges and universities. Using the College Navigator's school search engine, you can search the country for schools based on your criteria.
Has information on America's best private and public colleges and universities, including admissions, financial aid, and college life.
- Peterson's College and Universities Search
This site allows you to search for universities nationally by name, or field of study.
Lists over 10,000 higher education institutions in 194 countries, as well as transfer, financial aid and also includes career information.
- AJR Newspapers
Provides online access to campus newspapers across the United States.
- College and University Directory of Campus Newspapers
An online directory linking you to campus newspapers around the world.
- U.S. News - Education
Designed to help users choose a college or graduate school. It has directories, college rankings of 1,600 schools, and financial aid information. Not all the information provided by this site is free.
This site, which has teamed up with the Wall Street Journal, provides information on schools from the students themselves.
- Princeton Review - College Rankings
Provides surveys from thousands of college students to get the inside word about what's going on at the nation's top 351 colleges.Some rankings cover the serious side of school and others tell you what it's really like to live there. Browse by categories or search by school name.
- Help Wanted Projections of Jobs and Education Requirements Through 2018
This report done by the Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce shows that by 2018, we will need 22 million new college degrees—but will fall short of that number by at least 3 million postsecondary degrees, Associate’s or better. In addition, we will need at least 4.7 million new workers with postsecondary certificates.
- Career and Technical Education: Five Ways That Pay
Getting a Bachelor's degree is the best way for most workers to make middle-class wages. In this report, however, we show there are 29 million jobs (21% of all jobs) for workers without Bachelor's degrees. The report also details five major sub-baccalaureate, career and technical education (CTE) pathways: employer-based training, industry-based certifications, apprenticeships, postsecondary certificates, and associate's degrees.
- The College Payoff
A college degree pays off--but by just how much? This report by Georgetown University examines lifetime earnings for all education levels and earnings by occupation, age, race/ethnicity and gender.
- College Completion Tool Kit
70 percent of students go on to pursue some kind of postsecondary education after high school, but less than half actually get a degree or certificate within 6 years. Why is this so important? Because more than half of all new jobs created in the next decade will require a postsecondary degree. This kit is produced by the Department of Education
- College Grads Expand Lead in Job Security
Article from the Wall Street Journal in 2010 that illustrate a divide between the fortunes of Americans with college degrees and those without. It's not only that the college educated earn more, but that they are far more likely to keep their jobs when times get tough.
- The Undereducated American
A new study by the Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce confirms that over the past 30 years, the demand for college-educated workers has outpaced supply, resulting in economic output below potential and growing income inequality
- Guide to California Colleges and Universities
Provides a college search, crime statistics, financial aid, and transfer information for students in California
- California Colleges.edu
Information about higher education opportunities in California. In addition to information about specific public and private schools, career planning, and financial aid.
- CSU Mentor
CSUMentor is an online resource designed to help students and their families learn about the California State University (CSU) system, select a CSU campus to attend, plan to finance higher education, and apply for admission.
- UC University of California - Admissions
Provides admissions information for the University of California system.
- Association of Independent California Colleges & Universities (AICCU
A directory of California's private, non-profit, universities, includes a link to each school's website
This web site identifies community college courses that can be used instead of a university course to satisfy a specific lower-division requirement at the university campus.
- IGETC - Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum
The Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum is a general education program that California Community College transfer students can use to fulfill lower-division general education requirements at a California State University or University of California campus.
- University of California Transfer Information
This web site provides information on how to transfer to the UC system and also includes information about the Transfer Admission Guarantee (TAG) program.
- Historically Black Colleges and Universities
There are 105 historically black universities and colleges, and the majority were created in the United States after the Civil War. The history of these historical black colleges and universities offer stories of courage, and recruitment of students from under-represented minority populations.
- What Can I Do With This Major
A website that connects majors with careers. For each major that interests you, choose "Information" to find an outline of common career areas, typical employers, and strategies designed to maximize career opportunities.
- What Can I Do With a Major In?
From a list of possible college majors this site provides applicable job titles, job and internship links, and industry information links.
- College Admission Advice - The Choice
This weblog from the New York Times will keep you up to date and provides tips on the latest trends on college admission, and financial aid.